Drake, Arcade Fire Win Early at Juno Awards

Nasty Little Man

Serena Ryder was named artist of the year at the Canadian music awards, while Tegan and Sara earned the pop album of the year trophy, ahead of Sunday night's televised gala.

TORONTO -- Indie rock heroes Arcade Fire started their winning ways Saturday night at the Juno Awards by picking up the alternative album of the year for Reflektor in pretelecast prize-giving.

Other early winners at Canada's music awards included Drake, taking rap recording of the year for "Nothing Was the Same," Serena Ryder winning for artist of the year and Tegan and Sara earning pop album of the year for Heartthrob.

Other pretelecast winners included Brett Kissel picking up the breakthrough artist of the year trophy, and Johnny Reid grabbing the Juno for adult contemporary album of the year for A Christmas to You.

Rock album of the year went to Matt Mays for Coyote.

Arcade Fire goes into Sunday night with a field-leading six nominations.

Crooner Michael Buble and Ryder are each up for five noms in this year's competition, while Celine Dion, Drake, Hedley, and Tegan and Sara earned four nominations each.

Arcade Fire's "Reflektor" will challenge for single of the year against "Closer," by Tegan and Sera, Ryder's "What I Wouldn't Do," Buble's "It's a Beautiful Day" and "Inner Ninja," by Classified and David Myles.

The Juno fan choice award will be fought over by Arcade Fire, Justin Bieber, Avril Lavigne, Buble, Ryder, Dion, Drake, Hedley, Robin Thicke and Walk Off the Earth.

Serena Ryder, Classified and Johnny Reid will host the 2014 Junos, to air on the CTV network.