Drake Reveals 'Nothing Was The Same' Release Date

Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

The rapper also unveiled audio for four songs from his third solo album.

Drake fans were just given a stellar start to their weekends: on Saturday morning, the rapper shared four new songs with fans and announced that his third solo album, Nothing Was The Same, will hit stores on Sept. 17.

On Drake's OVO blog, "SEPTEMBER 17" now runs across the top of the site and are followed by a quartet of Soundclouds: Drake's "The Motion" featuring Sampha, the J. Cole-assisted "Jodeci Freestyle," Migos' "Versace" and PARTYNEXTDOOR's "Over Here." The latter two tracks both prominently feature Drake without billing him as the lead artist, with "Versace" letting him loose with a rapid-fire opening verse and "Over Here" constructing a wavy reggae set-up before Drizzy takes the mic.

PHOTOS: A-Listers Angle to Play Music's Biggest Icons

"The Motion" and "Jodeci Freestyle" may or may not appear on the track list of Drake's third album -- after all, the rapper released a slew of tracks ahead of 2011's "Take Care" that didn't make final cut, including "Trust Issues," the Rick Ross collaboration "Free Spirit" and the Jai Paul-sampling "Dreams Money Can Buy." However, "Started From The Bottom," released as the first single to "Nothing Was The Same," will presumably appear on the album after peaking at No. 6 on the Hot 100 chart.

Released in November 2011, "Take Care" scored one of biggest first-week debuts of the past five years, selling 631,000 copies in its first frame, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Since then, Drizzy has appeared on hits by Kendrick Lamar ("Poetic Justice"), 2 Chainz ("No Lie"), A$AP Rocky ("F---in' Problems") and French Montana ("Pop That"), among others.

Immediately following the release of "Nothing Was The Same," Drake will kick off a 41-date tour with Miguel and Future on Sept. 25. He'll also host his annual OVO Fest in Toronto on Aug. 4 and 5, with performers like Frank Ocean and James Blake.