Duffy producer Bernard Butler feted

Brian Eno, Danger Mouse also honored in London

LONDON -- Bernard Butler was named producer of the year the inaugural Music Producers Guild Awards in London.

Butler, formerly the guitarist in U.K. rock act Suede, was recognized for his work on pop act Duffy's debut set "Rockferry" (A&M/Universal). Duffy attended the Feb. 12 ceremony at London's Cafe de Paris and presented Butler with the award -- and the Brit award for best producer, which also goes to the MPG winner.

Brian Eno collected the Joe Meek Award for innovation in production, while Brian Burton aka Danger Mouse was named international producer of the year.

A total of 14 awards were presented. Other winners included Kate Nash and Bloc Party producer Paul Epworth (best newcomer), Calvin Harris (best remixer) and British Grove Studios (best studio). U.K. indie-rock act Elbow won best album for "The Seldom Seen Kid" (Fiction/Polydor) and best single for "One Day Like This."

Mike Howlett, chairman of the Music Producers Guild, said, "We hope that this event will become an integral part of the music industry calendar for many years to come. Audio professionals are positioned at the very heart of the music industry - we make the content that is the industry's product - and it is important that we are acknowledged as vital and key contributors."