Duo in line for ASC heritage prizes


The American Society of Cinematographers has named Andrew M. Davis of Chapman University and Sean Stiegemeier of the American Film Institute recipients of the Laszlo Kovacs Heritage Award for Outstanding Cinematography on a student project.

"This award is designed to encourage talented student filmmakers pursuing careers in cinematography," said Isidore Mankofsky, chairman of the ASC's education committee. "We re-dedicate the ASC Heritage Award annually to the memory of a different cinematographer. Kovacs was tireless in his efforts to support students and other young filmmakers. ... He was also chairman of the ASC education committee for many years."

The presentation will be made during the 22nd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, Jan. 26 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.