Gotham Awards: Dustin Hoffman, Sofia Coppola Join Honorees

Getty Images
Dustin Hoffman and Sofia Coppola

The pair will be recognized with actor and director tributes at this year's ceremony.

The Gotham Awards have added Dustin Hoffman and Sofia Coppola to this year's list of tribute honorees. 

Hoffman will receive the actor tribute while Coppola will receive the director tribute. The pair join Nicole Kidman, Ed Lachman, former Vice President Al Gore and Blumhouse founder Jason Blum as the tribute recipients at this year's independent film awards.

Hoffman, a two-time Oscar winner, will next be seen in Noah Baumbach's The Meyerowitz Stories, alongside Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler and Emma Thompson.

Coppola is one of only four women to be nominated for the best director Oscar, one of three Academy Award nominations she received for her film Lost In Translation, starring Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson. Her latest film is a gender-bending remake of The Beguiled, starring Kidman, Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning and Colin Farrell.

"We are thrilled to present Dustin Hoffman with the actor tribute. Starting with his breakthrough role in the timeless classic The Graduate to his highly praised turn in his upcoming film, The Meyerowitz Stories, Dustin's wide range of roles — often portraying antiheroes or the marginalized — and the creative choices he has embodied in these complex characters, has firmly placed him amongst the most compelling actors to have graced the screen," Joana Vicente, executive director of the Independent Filmmakers Project, which presents the Gotham Awards, and the Made in NY Media Center, said Wednesday in a statement. "We are equally delighted to present Sofia with the director tribute this year. Sofia continues to shatter the glass 'lens' in our industry, being only the second woman in Cannes history to win best director. From the indelible impression her films have on audiences, to her singular vision and aesthetic, which underscore her subtle commentary on society and culture, Sofia has made a lasting contribution to the art of film."

Previous Gotham Award honorees include Oliver Stone, Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, Arnon Milchan, Robert Redford, Helen Mirren, Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Matt Damon, Natalie Portman, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet, Bennett Miller, Richard Linklater, Spike Lee, David O. Russell, Ted Sarandos, Jeff Skoll, Tom Rothman, James Schamus, and Bob and Harvey Weinstein.

The Gotham Awards traditionally mark the official start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

Gotham Award nominations will be announced Oct. 19, with the awards to be handed out Nov. 27 at New York's Cipriani Wall Street.