Dylan's 'Newport' shows slated for DVD


NEW YORK -- Adding to an already robust slate of Bob Dylan-related releases this fall, Columbia/Legacy will on Oct. 30 release the DVD "The Other Side of the Mirror -- Bob Dylan Live at the Newport Folk Festival 1963-1965," Billboard.com has learned.

Directed by Murray Lerner, the film sports 80 minutes of performances, approximately 70% of which have never been released in any form.

Dylan's July 1965 performance at the Rhode Island festival has gone down in history as the moment when he "went electric," startling the crowd and prompting a negative reaction from fans accustomed to the acoustic music of the artist's early recordings.

The film includes Dylan's rehearsal with his electric band Mike Bloomfield (guitar), Sam Lay (drums), Jerome Arnold (bass), Al Kooper (organ) and Barry Goldberg (piano), plus two of the three songs they performed during their set ("Maggie's Farm" and "Like a Rolling Stone"; "It Takes a Lot to Laugh, it Takes a Train to Cry" is omitted). Dylan then returned to the stage for solo versions of "Mr. Tambourine Man" and "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue."

Lerner eschewed narration and interviews with other artists (including Dylan himself) for "Mirror," which will also air on PBS after Thanksgiving. "[There's] nothing except the experience of seeing him," he says. "That to me is exciting. Just the clear experience gives you everything you need."

As previously reported, Dylan is the subject of a three-disc eponymous retrospective due Oct. 2, and his music, as interpreted by artists such as Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Wilco's Jeff Tweedy and Willie Nelson, is the centerpiece of the soundtrack for "I'm Not There," in stores Oct. 30. That film, which features six different actors playing Dylan at various eras of his life, arrives Nov. 21 in U.S. theaters.

Dylan will also tour this fall with support from Elvis Costello, who will be playing his first solo sets in more than a decade.

Finally, the artist will on Sept. 19 premiere the second season of his XM Satellite Radio show, "Theme Time Radio Hour," with a show focused on the word "hello." Season two guests will include Luke Wilson, Amy Sedaris, Jack White, John Cusack, Richard Lewis and Ellen Barkin.

Here is the track list for "The Other Side of the Mirror:

"All I Really Want To Do" (7/24/1965 - afternoon workshop)

"North Country Blues" (7/26 afternoon workshop)
"With God on Our Side" (with Joan Baez - 7/26 afternoon workshop and 7/28 night performance)
"Talkin' World War III Blues" (7/26 night performance)
"Who Killed Davey Moore?" (7/27 afternoon workshop)
"Only a Pawn in Their Game" (7/26 night performance)
"Blowin' in the Wind" (with the Freedom Singers, Joan Baez and Peter, Paul and Mary - 7/26 night performance)

"Mr. Tambourine Man" (7/24 afternoon workshop)
Johnny Cash sings "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right" (night performance)
Joan Baez sings "Mary Hamilton" as Bob Dylan (7/24 night performance)
"It Ain't Me, Babe" (with Joan Baez - 7/24 night performance)
Joan Baez interview
"With God on Our Side" (with Joan Baez - 7/26 night performance)
"Chimes of Freedom" (7/26 night performance)

"If You Gotta Go, Go Now" (7/24 afternoon workshop)
"Love Minus Zero/No Limit" (7/24 afternoon workshop)
Daytime rehearsal with Dylan's electric band
"Maggie's Farm" (with electric band - 7/25 night performance)
"Like a Rolling Stone" (with electric band - 7/25 night performance)
"Mr. Tambourine Man" (7/25 night performance)
"It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" (7/25 night performance)