Ebert to receive special DGA Award

Three guild members will also be honored

Film critic and author Roger Ebert will receive the DGA's 2009 Honorary Life Member Award, which recognizes "outstanding creative achievement, or contribution to the Guild, or the profession of directing," at the 61st annual DGA Awards dinner on Jan. 31 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Century City.

DGA president Michael Apted and awards chair Howard Storm have also announced three guild members that will be honored at the event.

The guild's second vp, director William M. Brady, will receive the Robert B. Aldrich Award for extraordinary service to the DGA and to its membership.

Board member Kim Kurumada, a unit production manager, will receive the Frank Capra Achievement Award, given to an assistant director or unit production manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA.

Assistant secretary and treasurer Scott Berger, an associate director, will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award for an associate director or stage manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA.

"From the blockbuster to the tiny independent film, Roger Ebert has devoted his career to sharing his love of film with generations of moviegoers," Apted said. "In doing so, he's kept directors on their toes for more than 40 years. I am very pleased to welcome him as an Honorary Life Member of the DGA."

Apted added, "The three special Guild Award honorees -- Bill Brady, Kim Kurumada and Scott Berger -- have left an indelible mark upon this organization through their leadership, negotiating prowess, and dedication to the needs of their fellow members, the Guild, and the industry. I could not be prouder of their accomplishments nor more appreciative of their service."
comments powered by Disqus