Eddie Murphy to Receive Inaugural Comedy Icon Award

Eddie Murphy Yellow 2011
Jason Kempin/Getty Images For Tribeca Film Festival

NEW YORK - APRIL 21:  Actor Eddie Murphy attends the 2010 Tribeca Film Festival opening night premiere of "Shrek Forever After" at the Ziegfeld Theatre on April 21, 2010 in New York City.

Presenters and attendees at the first ever Comedy Awards include Tina Fey, Jon Stewart and Jimmy Fallon.

Eddie Murphy will be the first recipient of the Comedy Icon Award at the first annual The Comedy Awards, scheduled to air Sunday, April 10 on multiple MTV Networks channels.

The honor will be given yearly to a modern icon, an individual who has contributed to comedy and whose impact has changed the landscape and inspired future generations of entertainers. Murphy will be recognized for his stand-up, sketch, film and TV work.

Among the presenters and attendees at The Comedy Awards will be Tina Fey, Jon Stewart, Jimmy Fallon, Tracy Morgan, South Park’s Matt Stone and Trey Parker, Ty Burrell, Louis C.J., Stephen Colbert, Rob Corddry, Bill Hader, Chloe Moretz, Craig Robinson, Andy Samberg and Kristen Wiig.

The Roots was also announced as the house band during the awards ceremony.

Samberg, Jorma Taccone and Akiva Schaffer of The Lonely Island will perform “I Just Had Sex” with Akon for the first time live.

The Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence, along with the Comedy Icon Award, will be presented during the taping of the awards show on Saturday, March 26.

The Comedy Awards will be broadcast on Comedy Central, Spike, TV Land, VH1 and Nick at Nite on April 10.