Edward Sharpe Takes on Beatles Classic for Tribute Album

The collection "Beatles Reimagined," due out Oct. 1, features a slate of up-and-coming indie artists performing hits from 1963 and 1964.

It happens thousands of times every day. A music fan gets asked, "Who's your favorite band?" and answers: The Beatles.

But that triggered response isn't as common for those under the age of 20. Frankly, it looks as if The Beatles don’t always translate to the social media–crazed generation, who seems to believe the only way to make music is on a laptop. Looking to change people’s warped sense of the Beatles’ music, Community Music’s Community Projects label is releasing a tribute album called Beatles Reimagined on Oct. 1.

PHOTOS: The Scene at Outside Lands 2013

The album features ten artists, nine of whom are relatively unheard of, all singing songs released from 1963 and 1964. Four of those tracks come from the Beatles' debut, Please Please Me, which Reimagined is also celebrating as the album reaches its 50th anniversary.

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, the best-known band on the bill, contribute a cover of Please Please Me’s opening song, “I Saw Her Standing There,” an early testament to Paul McCartney’s incredible vocal range.

STORY: Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros' Self-Titled Album: What the Critics Are Saying

Adage CEO Herb Jordan, one of the driving forces behind this project, says, “There’s nothing left for The Beatles but to be relevant in today’s music.” He describes Reimagined as “a compelling artist discovery project whose mission is to reinvigorate the timeless writing of [John] Lennon and McCartney through the eyes of today's most creative independent artists, not through the filter of 1963.”

“I Wanna Be Your Man,” a 1963 song originally written for The Rolling Stones by Lennon and McCartney, is covered by electro-pop up-and-comer Night Panther. Though it was indie-rock band Mobley’s cover that was used in the Aug. 11 episode of True Blood, and is included on the show’s latest soundtrack. With the indie folk-rock genre covered by Edward Sharpe, Mobley and The Well Pennies, the album fills its diversity quota with pop, rock and even electro-pop acts contributing their interpretations of Beatles classics.

Says Edward Sharpe frontman Alex Ebert: The Beatles are “the band I think of most when considering if the music I’m making is good enough.”

Profits from net album sales of Remagined will be donated to Los Angeles' Rock N' Roll Camp for Girls.

See the track list below:

1.  “All My Loving” – The Well Pennies

2.  “From Me to You” – Mobley

3.  “Misery” – Feverbody

4.  “I Saw Her Standing There” – Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros
5.  “I Wanna Be Your Man” – Night Panther

6.  “I Feel Fine” – Jhameel

7.  “There’s A Place” – Leftover Cuties

8.  “She Loves You” – Badwolf

9.  “Please Please Me” – Adventure Galley

10. “And I Love Her” – Doom and Gloom

Twitter: @THRMusic