EFA to honor Ballhaus, Godard


BERLIN -- The European Film Academy said that Michael Ballhaus and Jean-Luc Godard will be the recipients of honorary prizes at the 20th European Film Awards.

Godard, whose "Breathless" and "Alphaville" are considered cornerstones of the Nouvelle Vague and who is credited with ringing in a new era in international cinema, will be presented with the lifetime achievement award for his contribution to the world of film.

Ballhaus, a German cinematographer whose impressive work with Francis Ford Coppola ("Bram Stoker's Dracula") and Martin Scorsese ("GoodFellas," "Gangs of New York," "The Departed") has established him as one of the finest masters in his profession, will receive the European Achievement in World Cinema 2007 award.

Both honorees are expected to attend the Dec. 1 awards ceremony in Berlin, where members of the EFA also will announce winners in nine annual categories, with several additional awards presented by juries.

The EFA was founded in 1989 and has 1,800 members.