EFA names European Discovery Award noms

Five first-time filmmakers announced at Zurich Film Fest

COLOGNE, Germany -- Amid the press circus at the Zurich Film Festival that has followed Saturday's arrest of director Roman Polanski, the European Film Academy used the event to quietly announce the nominees for this year's European Discovery Award.

The five first-time filmmakers picked are: Peter Strickland for his Berlinale competition entry "Katalin Varga;" Georgian director George Ovashvili for "The Other Bank;" Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani of Israel for their Cannes entry "Ajami;" Juliette Garcias' "Be Good," which premiered at the Rotterdam Film Festival; and Turkish director Ozan Alper for "Autumn."

The five nominees were selected by a committee of European film professionals. The 2,000 members of the European Film Academy will vote for the winner, which will be announced at the 22nd European Film Awards on Dec. 12 in Bochum, Germany.