'Goodnight Mommy,' 'The Lobster,' 'Body' Win EFA Tech Honors

Courtesy of Biennale di Venezia
'Goodnight Mommy'

The European Film Awards announce the first six winners for 2015.

The European Film Academy has announced the winners, in six technical categories, of the 2015 European Film Awards, Europe's equivalent of the Oscars.

The winners include several foreign-language titles vying for the Academy Award, which will be hoping the EFA wins will give them an Oscar bump. 

Austria's contender Goodnight Mommy won the European cinematographer 2015 honor for Martin Gschlacht, for what the EFA jury called his “excellent example of the use of composition and light" and his offering "a new, very modern understanding of the art of cinematography” in the horror thriller from directors Severin Fiala and Veronika Franz.

Jacek Drosio won the European editor award for his editing of Polish drama Body from director Malgorzata Szumowska, described by the jury as using “playful precision underpinned by shining humor.”

Other EFA winners include Sylvie Olive, who won the European production designer honor for Belgium's Oscar hopeful The Brand New Testament; Vasco Pimentel and Miguel Martins, best European sound designer winners for Portuguese entry Arabian Nights; and Sarah Blenkinsop, who won in the European costume designer category for her work on Yorgos Lanthimos' sci-fi comedy The Lobster.

The British duo Cat's Eyes (aka Faris Badwan and Rachel Zeffira) won the EFA's European composer award for their score for Peter Strickland's The Duke of Burgundy

Unlike the bulk of the European Film Awards, which are voted on by European Film Academy members, the technical winners are picked by a seven-member jury of experts from various technical fields from across Europe.

The European Film Academy will announce the 2015 EFA nominees for the main categories, including best film, best director and best actor/actress, on Nov. 7 at the Seville European Film Festival.

The 2015 European Film Awards will be presented at a gala ceremony in Berlin on Dec. 12.