EFP jury chooses 2009 Shooting Stars

David Kross, Hafsia Herzi selected for honor

COLOGNE, Germany -- The European Film Promotion Jury has selected the 10 up-and-coming European actors that will be presented to producers and talent scouts at EFP's Shooting Stars event during February's Berlin International Film Festival.

They include Germany's David Kross, France's Hafsia Herzi, Cyron Melville of Denmark, Irish actor Sarah Bolger, Alba Caterina Rohrwacher of Italy, Samuli Vauramo of Finland, Hungarian actor Orsi Toth, Veronica Echegui of Spain, Swiss actress Celine Bolomey and British actress Carey Mulligan.

A number of the Shooting Stars will be familiar to astute observers of the European film scene. Kross recently made his international debut alongside Kate Winslet in Stephen Daldry's "The Reader"; Herzi won the Marcello Mastrioianni Award in Venice and France's Cesar as most promising actress for her role in Abdellatif Kechiche's "The Secret of the Grain"; and Mulligan has appeared in the BBC's "Bleak House" and has a supporting role in Michael Mann's upcoming "Public Enemies."

All of the 2009 Shooting Stars will take part in networking and promotional events in Berlin between Feb. 7-9.

The highlight comes Feb. 9 when Berlin festival director Dieter Kosslick will presents the young actors with the Shooting Star Award, sponsored by Germany's Studio Babelsberg, at the Berlinale Palast.