Cannes: Elle Fanning, Kelly Reichardt Join Competition Jury

Elle Fanning Deauville - Getty - H 2018
Francois G. Durand/WireImage

'The Favorite' director Yorgos Lanthimos and 'Cold War' helmer Pawel Pawlikowski will also join Alejandro G. Iñárritu's panel deciding the Palme d'Or.

Elle Fanning and Certain Women director Kelly Reichardt are set to join the competition jury, presided over by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, at the upcoming Cannes Film Festival. 

A handful of Cannes prize-winning filmmakers are also on the panel, including Italian director Alice Rohrwacher, who took the best screenplay prize for Happy as Lazaro last year and the Jury Prize for The Wonders in 2014, and French helmer Robin Campillo, who won the grand prize for 120 BPM in 2017.

Polish filmmaker Pawel Pawlikowski, who won the best director prize for Cold War at Cannes last year and went on to be nominated for three Oscars, and Greek helmer Yorgos Lanthimos, who has earned three prizes at Cannes for Kynodontas, The Lobster and The Killing of a Sacred Deer and was nominated for three Oscars for The Favorite, will also add some heft to the panel.

French artist and writer Enki Bilal and African actress Maimouna N'Diaye round out this year's gender-balanced jury.

This year's nine panelists will decide the Palme d'Or from a lineup that includes films from festival regulars Pedro Almodovar, Ken Loach, Terrence Malik, Arnaud Desplechin and the Dardenne brothers.

Jim Jarmusch's The Dead Don't Die, starring Tilda Swinton, Chloe Sevigny and Selena Gomez, is in competition and will serve as the fest's opening film. 

Lebanese director and actress Nadine Labaki, whose Capernum was nominated for a best foreign-language film Oscar this year, will head up the Un Certain Regard sidebar jury, while French helmer Claire Denis will head up the short film and Cinefondation jury and Oscar-nominated filmmaker Ciro Guerra will oversee the Critics' Week sidebar.

The Cannes Film Festival is set to run May 14-25.