Elliot Gould, Jim Broadbent to Chair Edinburgh Film Festival Juries

Elliott Gould - P 2012
Getty Images

Gould will preside over the festival's international competition while Broadbent is tasked with overseeing the festival's Michael Powell award for British endeavors.

LONDON – Elliott Gould will chair this year's Edinburgh International Film Festival international feature competition jury.

Gould will preside over a three-member jury including indie producer and former Karlovy Vary International Film Festival program director Julietta Sichel and filmmaker Lav Diaz, whose latest film, Florentina Hubaldo, CTE will unspool during the EIFF's Philippine New Wave strand.

The international feature competition winner will come from a selection of movies from around the world and also includes, for the first time, documentary films alongside narrative films.

STORY: Edinburgh International Film Festival Brings Back Awards for 2012 After Dropping Plaudits Last Year

The nominees for the best international feature nod are: Clarissa Campolina and Helvécio Marins Jr’s Girimunho, Mao Mao’s Here, Then, Anka Sasnal and Wilhelm Sasnal’s It Looks Pretty From A Distance, David Zellner’s Kid-Thing, Yeon Sang-ho’s The King of Pigs, Alexandre O Philippe’s The Life and Times of Paul The Psychic Octopus, Maite Alberdi’s The Lifeguard, Mania Akbari’s One.Two.One, Gastón Solnicki’s Papirosen, Oskar Alegria’s The Search For Emak Bakia, Jang Kun-jae’s Sleepless Night, Miguel GomesTabu, Dan Sallitt’s The Unspeakable Act and A Woman's Revenge by Rita Azevedo Gomes.

The winner of the award in 2010 was Ryan Piers Williams' The Dry Land.

One of the first and headline grabbing moves made by incoming artistic director Chris Fujiwara was to re-introduce the competitive elements of the long-running Scottish festival for this year's edition.

Oscar winner Jim Broadbent will chair this year's Edinburgh International Film Festival Michael Powell award competition jury.

Broadbent will preside over a three-member jury joined by Japanese actress and producer Kiki Sugino (Hospitalite) and Tiina Lokk, founder and director of the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival.

The trio will dish out Festival accolades for best British feature film and best performance in a British movie.

"I have always had the most brilliant of times at the Edinburgh Festival and I'm sure the Film Festival will be equally stimulating; and I relish the opportunity to see such a great range of films in such special company," Broadbent said.

Named in homage to the British filmmaker and inaugurated in 1990, the Michael Powell Award is re-introduced during this year's Edinburgh shindig after organizers controversially dropped the awards element of the festival last year.

The last winner of the award was Nick Whitfield for Skeletons in 2010, when that year's jury also dished out a nod to David Thewlis for his turn in Mr Nice.

The nominees for 2012’s Michael Powell Award are Peter Strickland's Berberian Sound Studio, Day of The Flowers directed by John Roberts, Flying Blind from Katarzyna Klimkiewicz, Maja Borg's Future My Love, Bart Layton's The Imposter, Life Just Is directed by Alex Barrett, Penny Woolcock's One Mile Away, Pusher by Luis Prieto, James Marsh's Shadow Dancer and Small Creatures directed by Martin Wallace.

British films competing for the Michael Powell Award will include, for the first time, documentaries contending alongside narrative films.

The festival will also include an inaugural student critics jury award and a British short film competition also.

In addition to their jury duties both Broadbent and Gould will be the subjects of In-Person events, at which they will discuss their careers. Both In-Person events will take place on June 23.

The 66th Edinburgh International Film Festival opens with William Friedkin’s Killer Joe and closes with the European premiere of Disney/Pixar’s Brave.

The festival runs June 20 to July 1.