Emerson Drive tops Canada country nods


REGINA, Saskatchewan -- Emerson Drive, the band that has had success both north and south of the border, was the bigger winner at this year's Canadian Country Music Awards, which were held Monday at the Brandt Center here.

The band picked up single video and group or duo of the year nods. Its single "Moments" was a hit in the U.S. and Canada.

Brad Johner, from host province Saskatchewan, was presented with male artist honors. Carolyn Dawn Johnson took home the top female award. Corb Lund won roots artist of the year for the second year in a row and band Doc Walker took home top album honors for its self-titled album.

Aaron Pritchett was the SOCAN songwriter of the year for "Hold My Beer," while Shane Yellowbird, who performed his hit "Pickup Truck," was named the Chevy rising star.

One of the biggest awards of the night -- the Kraft Cheez Whiz Fans' Choice Award -- was won by Terri Clark, who has now accepted the award seven times.

Hosted by Canadian superstar Paul Brandt, the awards aired on CBC TV and will also be shown on CMT Canada and in the U.S. on GAC in the coming weeks.