Enrique Urbizu's 'No Rest for the Wicked' the Big Winner at the Spanish Goya Awards

San Sebastian Festival
No Rest for the Wicked

Pedro Almodovar's "The Skin I Live In" snatches only 4 of the 16 honors for which it was nominated.

MADRID – Enrique Urbizu’s thriller No Rest for the Wicked snagged the top honors at the XXVI Goya Awards ceremony, leaving Pedro Almodovar and his The Skin I Live In with yet another disappointment from the Spanish Film Academy.

Wicked, produced by Telecinco Cinema and LaZona Films with Warner Bros. handling its Spanish theatrical release, snagged six of the 14 categories for which it was nominated, while Skin won four of the 16 it was vying for.

The ceremony, which saw Almodovar attend for the first time in years after quitting the Academy citing irregularities in voting procedures, did see Elena Anaya take home the best lead actress nod for her role in Almodovar’s film, though her co-star – Antonio Banderas — watched the lead actor honor go to Wicked’s Jose Coronado.

Banderas, Melanie Griffith, Salma Hayek –nominated for the lead actress award for her part in Alex de la Iglesia’s As Luck Would Have It — and Daniel Bruhl added international star power to the event.

In his first Goya ceremony as Spanish Film Academy president Enrique Gonzalez Macho called on the new culture minister present in the auditorium to keep in mind how fragile financing models for Spanish cinema are.

“Changes are going to affect us a lot, the legislative changes announced by authorities present here tonight, technological changes and our relationships with the broadcasters,” Gonzalez Macho said. “We plea for caution, without abandoning the road to the future. We’re all Internet users, but Internet is still doesn’t form part of the Spanish economic model.”

Just ahead of the Academy Awards where he is nominated for the original score for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Alberto Iglesias won his 10th Goya for his original composition for Skin – marking yet another successful Almodovar-Iglesias combination.

“Every time I go to work, I’m obliged to do my best and feel enthusiastic,” Iglesias said on stage. “But what has really helped me to do my best is Pedro Almdovar, who always asks me for more and helps me to find my best.”

Wrinkles, an animated feature about old age, Mateo Gil’s western Blackthorn and Benito Zambrano’s  Spanish Civil War drama The Sleeping Voice each made a good showing in the ceremony that was broadcast live on pubcaster Television Espanola.

A complete list of winners follows:


No Rest for the Wicked, Enrique Urbizu.



Enrique Urbizu, No Rest for the Wicked.


New Director

Kike Maillo,  Eva.


Original Script

Enrique Urbizu and Michel Gaztambide, No Rest for the Wicked.


Adapted Script

Angel de la Cruz, Ignacio Ferreras, Paco Roca and Rosanna Cecchini, Wrinkles.


Original Score

Alberto Iglesias, The Skin I Live In.


Original Song

Nana de la hierbabuena, for La voz dormida.


Lead Actor

Jose Coronado, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Lead Actress

Elena Anaya, for The Skin I Live In.


Supporting Actor

Lluis Homar, for Eva.


Supporting Actress

Ana Wagener, for The Sleeping Voice.


New Actor

Jan Cornet, for The Skin I Live In.


New Actress

Maria Leon, for The Sleeping Voice.


Production Design

Andres Santana, for Blackthorn.



Juan Antonio Ruiz Anchia, for Blackthorn.



Pablo Blanco, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Artistic Director

Juan Pedro de Gaspar, for Blackthorn.



Clara Bilbao, for Blackthorn.


Makeup and Hair

Karmele Soler, David Marti and Manolo Carretero, for The Skin I Live In.



Licio Marcos de Oliveira and Ignacio Royo-Villanova, for No Rest for the Wicked.


Special Effects

Arturo Balseiro and Lluis Castells, for Eva.


Animated Feature



Documentary Film

Escuchando al juez Garzon.


Ibero-American Film

Un cuento chino.


European Film

The Artist.


Spanish Fiction Short

El barco pirata.


Animated Short

Big Boy.


Documentary Short

Regreso a Viridiana.


Honorary Goya

Josefina Molina