Environmental Media Awards to Honor Elon Musk, Kelly Chapman Meyer (Exclusive)

Elon Musk, Kelly Chapman Meyer Split - H 2012
Getty Images

The duo will be recognized with the Corporate Responsibility and Lifetime Achievement nods, respectively, at the 22nd annual event.

The Environmental Media Association will honor entrepreneur Elon Musk and environmentalist and health advocate Kelly Chapman Meyer at its 22nd annual EMA Awards, to be held Sept. 29 at Warner Bros. Studios in Burbank.

Musk will receive the EMA Corporate Responsibility Award, and Meyer will receive the EMA Lifetime Achievement Award.

PHOTOS: 4 Portraits of Hollywood's Change Agents

Musk, the CEO and product architect of Tesla Motors and the CEO/CTO of Space Exploration Technologies, was chosen for his commitment to the advancement of technological development in creating sustainable energy.

At SpaceX, Musk is the chief designer, overseeing development of rockets and spacecraft for missions to Earth orbit and ultimately to other planets. At Tesla, Musk has overseen product development and design from the beginning, including the all-electric Tesla Roadster, Model S and Model X. Musk, who co-founded PayPal, also serves as the non-executive chairman and principal shareholder of SolarCity, a provider of solar power systems that he helped create.

Meyer is a trustee of the Natural Resources Defense Council, for which she recently co-chaired the "Making Peace with the Ocean" benefit that raised more than $3 million to celebrate and raise awareness for our oceans. She most recently co-founded the American Heart Association’s “Teaching Gardens,” which strives to eliminate childhood obesity by integrating nutrition and fitness into schools. Meyer is currently focused on launching and expanding "Teaching Gardens" into 1,000 schools within the next two years.

STORY: The 10 Secret Rules of Hollywood's Charity Events

Additionally, she is a board member of Heal the Bay and worked to help pass the Environmental Education Initiative, which provides environmental education for all K-12 children in the state of California.

The EMA Awards honor individuals and organizations, as well as films, television productions and their creative teams, that increase public awareness of environmental issues. 

Nominees in six TV and film categories were announced earlier this month. They include 21 Jump Street, Big Miracle and The Lorax in the feature film category; Whitney, Veep and Happy Endings in the TV episodic comedy category; and Harry's Law, Dallas and Rizzoli & Isles in the TV episodic drama category.

The nonprofit Environmental Media Association was founded in 1989 by Cindy and Alan Horn and Lyn and Norman Lear. For more information or to buy tickets, click here.