Euro Film Awards unveils nominations list

46-title long list, includes 'Ghost Writer,' 'Another Year'

COLOGNE, Germany -- Roman Polanski's political thriller "The Ghost Writer," Mike Leigh's melancholic drama "Another Year" and Berlin Film Fest winner "Honey" from Turkish director Semih Kaplanoglu are among the features on the European Film Academy's 46-title long list for this year's European Film Awards.

Other high-profile films on the EFA long list include Samuel Maoz's Venice Film Fest winner "Lebanon," Stephen Frears' comic-book adaptation "Tamara Drewe" and "Oliver Assayas' five-and-a-half hour terrorist biopic "Carlos."

The 20 countries with the most EFA Members each picked a national feature, with the remaining 12 selected by the EFA selection committee. The 2,300 European Film Academy members will vote for the official nominees, which will be announced at the Sevilla Film Festival in Spain on Nov. 6.

The 23rd European Film Awards will be held in Tallinn, Estonia Dec. 4.

The long list of nominees for the 2010 European Film Awards:

European Film Awards 2010

"3 Seasons In Hell," Tomaa Masin (Czech Republic)
"4 Black Suits," Renos Haralambidis (Greece)
"Adrienn Pal," Agnes Kocsis (Hungary)
"Another Year," Mike Leigh (U.K.)
"The Aviatrix of Kazbek," Ineke Smits (Netherlands/Georgia)
"Bad Family," Aleksi Salmenpera (Finland)
"Carlos," Olivier Assayas (France/Germany)
"Cell 211," Daniel Monzon (Spain/France)
"The Concert," Radu Mihaileanu (France)
"Donkey," Antonio Nuic (Croatia)
"Film Socialism," Jean-Luc Godard (Switzerland)
"The First Beautiful Thing," Paolo Virzi (Italy)
"The Ghost Writer," Roman Polanski (France/Germany/U.K.)
"Honey," Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey/Germany)
"Honeymoons," Goran Paskaljevic (Serbia/Albania)
"How I Ended This Summer," Alexei Popogrebsky (Russia)
"I, Don Giovanni," Carlos Saura (Austria/Italy/Spain)
"If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle" dir. Florin Serban (Romania)
"Julia's Disappearance," Christoph Schaub (Switzerland)
"Kawasaki's Rose," Jan Hrebejk (Czech Republic)
"Lebanon," Samuel Maoz (Israel)
"Loose Cannons," Ferzan Ozpetek (Italy)
"Lourdes," Jessica Hausner (Austria/France/Germany)
"Mamma Gogo," Fridrik Thor Fridriksson (Iceland)
"The Man Who Will Come," Giorgio Diritti (Italy)
"My Joy," Sergei Loznitsa (Germany/Ukraine/the Netherlands)
"My Queen Karo," Dorothee van den Berghe (Belgium/Netherlands)
"Nothing Personal," Urszula Antoniak (Netherlands/Ireland)
"Nowhere Boy," Sam Taylor-Wood (U.K.)
"Of Gods And Men," Xavier Beauvois (France)
"Ondine," Neil Jordan (Ireland)
"On The Path," Jasmila Zbanic (Bosnia & Herzegovina/Austria/Germany/Croatia)
"On Tour," Mathieu Amalric (France)
"Our Life," Daniele Luchetti (Italy)
"The Reverse," Borys Lankosz (Poland)
"The Robber," Benjamin Heisenberg (Austria/Germany)
"Sebbe," Babak Najafi (Sweden)
"The Secret In Their Eyes," Juan Jose Campanella (Spain/Argentina)
"Slovenian Girl," Damjan Kozole (Slovenia)
"Soul Kitchen," Fatih Akin (Germany)
"Submarino," Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)
"Tamara Drewe," Stephen Frears (U.K.)
"The Temptation of St. Tony," Veiko Ounpuu (Estonia)
"Upperdog," Sara Johnsen (Norway)
"Voice Over," Svetoslav Ovcharov (Bulgaria)
"When We Leave," Feo Aladag (Germany)
comments powered by Disqus