Europe's 'Shooting Stars' Announces Jury to Select 10 Emerging Talents

The Weinstein Company

The jury includes former Shooting Star, Norway's Anders Baasmo Christiansen, and four other veteran European industry members.

LONDON – Shooting Stars, the showcase of the 10 best young actors from Europe, has announced its 2014 jury. 

Norwegian actor Anders Baasmo Christiansen (Kon-Tiki), German filmmaker Hermine Huntgeburth (The White Massai), Croatian casting director Oriana Kuncic (A Stranger), U.K. film critic and journalist Charles Gant and producer Jani Thiltges (Before the Winter Chill), from Luxembourg, will select the lineup of 10 up-and-comers to be celebrated during the Berlin International Film Festival.

PHOTOS: THR's Portraits of the Berlin Film Festival's 2013 Stars and Filmmakers

The Shooting Stars event is bankrolled by the MEDIA Program of the European Union and the participating EFP members. Twenty-four EFP member countries have nominated one emerging actor from their respective territory for the accolade.

Now entering its 17th year, the Shooting Stars have included such future success stories as Daniel CraigCarey Mulligan, French actress Melanie Laurent and Germany's Daniel Bruhl.

The Berlin Film Festival runs Feb. 6-16, 2014.