Familiar names make cut as editors post ACE noms


In another roundup of the usual suspects, the five films nominated by the PGA and DGA as the year's top films all scored nominations for best edited dramatic film of 2008.

The 59th annual ACE Eddie Awards, which will take place Feb. 15 at the Beverly Hilton, will see "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," edited by Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter, compete against "The Dark Knight" (Lee Smith), "Frost/Nixon" (Mike Hill & Dan Hanley), "Milk" (Elliot Graham) and "Slumdog Millionaire" (Chris Dickens), the American Cinema Editors said Monday.

In the best edited comedy or musical category, the nominees are "In Bruges" (Jon Gregory), "Mamma Mia!" (Leslie Walker), "Tropic Thunder" (Greg Hayden), "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" (Alisa Lepselter) and "WALL-E" (Stephen Schaffer).

The documentary film nominees are "Bush's War" (Steve Audette), "Chicago 10" (Stuart Levy) and "Man on Wire" (Jinx Godfrey).

In the TV categories, a familiar trio of HBO titles — "Bernard and Doris" (Andy Keir), "John Adams: Independence" (Melanie Oliver) and "Recount" (Alan Baumgarten) — are nominated in the miniseries/motion picture, noncommercial TV category.

On the commercial side of the ledger, the miniseries/TV movie nominees are "24: Redemption" (Scott Powell), "The Librarian: Curse of the Judas Chalice" (David J. Siegel) and "Lost: There's No Place Like Home" (Henk Van Eeghen, Robert Florio, Mark J. Goldman and Stephen Semel).

In half-hour commercial TV, nominees are "30 Rock: Reunion" (Meg Reticker), "Entourage: Playing With Fire" (Jeff Groth) and "The Office: Goodbye Toby" (Dean Holland & David Rogers).

For commercial one-hour series, the lineup is: "Boston Legal: True Love" (Craig Bench), "Breaking Bad: Pilot" (Lynne Willingham) and "Law & Order SVU: Authority" (Karen Stern).

The noncommercial one-hour series nominees are "Crash: Los Muertos" (Eric Sears), "True Blood: Strange Love" (Michael Ruscio) and "The Wire: More With Less" (Kate Sanford).

Reality series nominations are "Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations — New Orleans" (Eric Lasby), "The Deadliest Catch: Fresh Blood" (Kelly Coskran & Ed Greene) and "Greensburg: The Tornado" (Leonard Feinstein).
comments powered by Disqus