The Festival de Cannes Unveils Cinefondation and Short Films Selections

Marilyn Monroe © photo by Otto L. Bettmann – Artwork: agence Bronx

10 short films and 15 Cinefondation features will compete for prizes awarded by Jean-Pierre Dardenne’s jury

PARIS - Just days ahead of Thursday’s big Festival de Cannes selection announcement, organizers revealed a sneak preview of this year’s fest with the list of Cinefondation titles and short films competition. 

The festival has chosen 15 films from the more than 1,700 submissions from 320 film schools from all over the world for the Cinefondation selection.

Two titles from the U.S. were selected, including Meryl O’Connor’s The Ballad of Finn + Yeti from UCLA and Matthew James Reilly’s Abigail from NYU. Also vying for jury president Jean-Pierre Dardenne’s affections will be entries from Argentina, Israel, the U.K., Cuba, Italy, Russia, Romania, Belgium, the Czech Republic, France, Japan and, for the first time ever, Lebanon.

In the short films category, this year’s selection will have a new beat with French rapper Mohamed Bourokba, aka Hamé,from popular hip hop group La Rumeur selected for his Ce Chemin Devant Moi. Ten films were selected from the 4,500 shorts submitted, including entries from Syria and Puerto Rico for the first time. Grainger David will represent the U.S. with The Chair.

Fest toppers Gilles Jacob and Thierry Fremaux will announce the full Festival de Cannes selection at a press conference in Paris on Thursday, April 19.


Cannes 2012 Short Film Competition

Mi Santa Mirada, dir. Alvaro Aponte-Centeno (Puerto Rico)
Gasp (Souffle), Eicke Bettinga (Germany)
Ce Chemin Devant Moi, dir Mohamed Bourokba (aka Hame) (France)
Waiting For P.O. Box (Falastein, Sandouk Al Intezar Lil Burtuqal), dir. Bassam Chekhes (Syria)
The Chair, dir. Grainger David (US)
Night Shift, dir Zia Mandivwalla (New Zealand)
Chef De Meute, dir. Chloe Robichaud (Canada)
Yardbird, dir. Michael Spiccia (Australia)
Cockaigne, dir. Emilie Verhamme (Belgium)
Silent (Sessiz-Be Deng), dir L Rezan Yesilbas (Turkey)

The Cinéfondation Selection

Behind Me Olive Trees (Derriere Moi Les Oliviers), dir. Pascale Abou Jamra (ALBA, Lebanon)
The Barber (Riyoushi), dir. Shoichi Akino (Tokyo University of The Arts, Japan)
The Raptures (Les Ravissements), dir. Arthur Cahn (La Femis, France)
Slug Invasion, dir. Morten Helgeland (The Animation Workshop, Denmark)
Tambylles, dir. Michal Hogenauer (FAMU, Czech Republic)
Matteus, dir. Leni Huyghe (Sint-Lukas Brussels, Belgium)
The Camp in Razoare, dir. Cristi Iftime (UNATC, Romania)
The Road To (Doroga Na), dir. Taisia Igumentseva (VGIK, Russia)
Land (Terra), dir. Piero Messina (CSC, Italy)
The Hosts (Los Anfitriones), dir. MIguel Angel Moulet (EICTV, Cuba)
The Ballad of Finn + Yeti, dir. Meryl O’Connor (UCLA, US)
Head Over Heels, dir. Timothy Reckart (NFTS, UK)
Abigail, dir. Matthew James Reilly (NYU, US)
Dog Leash (Resen), dir. Eti Tsicko (TAU, Israel)
Could See A Puma (Pude Ver Un Puma), dir. Eduardo Williams (UCINE, Argentina)

comments powered by Disqus