Final Draft Awards Screenwriting Nominees Announced

Birdman Still 3 - H 2014
Courtesy of Fox Searchlight

Birdman Still 3 - H 2014

'Birdman,' 'Boyhood,' 'The Grand Budapest Hotel,' 'Interstellar' and 'Nightcrawler' are nominated for best original screenplay.

Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Interstellar and Nightcrawler have been nominated for best original screenplay in the 10th annual Final Draft Awards. The screenwriting competition, sponsored by the Final Draft software maker and voted on by Final Draft users, will announce the winners at a ceremony Feb. 12 at the Paramount Studios Theatre in Hollywood that will be hosted by hosted by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant.

The nominees in the best adapted screenplay category are American Sniper, Gone Girl, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Imitation Game and The Theory of Everything.

At the ceremony, a Hall of Fame Award will be presented to the writing team of Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewksi, whose credits include Big Eyes, The People vs. Larry Flynt and Ed Wood.

The complete list of nominees follows: 

Best Original Screenplay

§  Birdman– Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris,  Armando Bo

§  Boyhood– Richard Linklater

§  The Grand Budapest Hotel– Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness

§  Interstellar – Christopher Nolan & Jonathan Nolan

§  Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy

Best Adapted Screenplay

§  American Sniper– Jason Dean Hall

§  Gone Girl– Gillian Flynn

§  Guardians of the Galaxy – James Gunn & Nicole Perlman

§  The Imitation Game– Graham Moore

§  The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten

Best Television Drama

§  Downton Abbey– Julian Fellowes

§  Fargo– Noah Hawley

§  Game of Thrones– David Benioff & D.B. Weiss

§  House of Cards– Beau Willimon

§  True Detective – Nic Pizzolatto

Best Television Comedy

§  The Big Bang Theory– Chuck Lorre & Bill Prady

§  Louie– Louis C.K.

§  Modern Family– Steven Levitan & Christopher Lloyd

§  Orange is the New Black– Jenji Kohan

§  Veep – Armando Iannucci