Finalists chosen for student Oscars

Includes 32 students from 20 colleges and universities

Thirty-two students from 20 colleges and universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 35th annual Student Academy Awards competition. Winning filmmakers will participate in a week of industry-related activities, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 7.

The winners, to be chosen by Academy members, will be awarded Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with accompanying cash prizes of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000, respectively, in each of four categories.

The finalists in the alternative category are: "Circles of Confusion," Phoebe Tooke, San Francisco State University; "Come Wander With Me," Phillip Van, New York University; "Comfort Zone," Mandi Lin, California College of the Arts; "A Convolution of Imagined Histories," Thomas Micah Stansell, Georgia State University; "Doxology," Michael Langan, Rhode Island School of Design; "Fish," Hyun Jeen Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York; and "Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant," Shih-Ting Hung, USC.

In the animation category, the finalists are "The Gloaming," Andrew Huang, USC; "Mr. Popcorn," Alexander Krivicich, Cornell University, New York; "Paper Shepherd," David Houry, The Cleveland Institute of Art, Ohio; "Simulacra," Tatchapon Lertwirojkul, The School of Visual Arts; "Snow Day," Kim Hazel, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida; "Toumai," Carlos Stevens, The Art Institute of Portland, Oregon; "The Visionary," Evan Mayfield, Ringling College of Art and Design; and "Zoologic," Nicole Mitchell, California Institute of the Arts.

The documentary finalists are "As We Forgive," Laura Waters Hinson, American University, Washington, D.C.; "If a Body Meet a Body," Brian Davis, USC; "The Legend of Rosalie," Nicholas Berger, Stanford University; "Recruiter," Adam Salky, Columbia University, New York; "Song of a Sperm Donor," Emmanuel Dayan, Stanford University; "Tijuana, Nada Mas," Yolanda Pividal, City College of New York; and "Unattached," J.J. Adler, Columbia University.

In the narrative category, the finalists are: "Cassandra," Mauricio Chernovetzky, San Diego State University; "A Day's Work," Rajeev Dassani, USC; "A Death in Progress," Donald Bitters III, Columbia College Chicago; "Mr. A.," Joe Murphy, Columbia University; "PAL/SECAM," Dmitry Povolotsky, Columbia University; "Picture Day," Nick Paley, New York University; "Pitstop," Melanie McGraw, University of Southern California; "Red Wednesday," Nazanin Shirazi, University of Texas at Austin; "The State of Sunshine," Z. Eric Yang, Florida State University; and "Wianbu – Comfort Woman," James Bang, Columbia University.

A foreign student also will be honored by the Academy in the Honorary Foreign Film category. Academy voters have selected students from the Czech Republic, Spain, Germany, Israel and Slovenia as finalists.

Tickets for the awards ceremony, at which the Gold Medal-winning films and the winning foreign student film will be screened in their entirety, are free. A maximum of four tickets may be requested online at, in person at the Academy boxoffice, by mail, or by calling the Student Academy Awards department at (310) 247-3000, ext. 130. The ceremony will be held on June 7, at 6 p.m. at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater, 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills.