Finalists chosen for Sundance/NHK Award

Entries come from Europe, Latin America, the U.S., Japan

Twelve projects from emerging filmmakers from around the world have been selected as finalists for the 2009 Sundance/NHK Filmmakers Award.

In its 13th year, the awards include an annual cash prize of $10,000 each to support new artists in international cinema. One recipient will be chosen from four global regions -- Europe, Latin America, the United States and Japan -- by an international jury and winners will be announced Jan. 22 at the Sundance Film Festival, which runs Jan. 15-25.

The winning directors will also receive a guarantee from Japanese broadcaster NHK to purchase the Japanese television

broadcast rights upon completion of their project. Additionally, each award recipient will receive ongoing support from Sundance Institute, providing mentorship and assistance in seeking opportunities to finance and distribute their projects.

The 12 finalists are:

Europe: Celia Galan Julve, "Rosita Guzman Is Alive," Spain;

Lucile Hadzihalilovic, "Evolution," France; and Marco Van Geffen, "Among Us," Netherlands.

Latin America: Fellipe Barbosa, co-writer Karen Sztajnberg, "Casa Grande," Brazil; Marcelo Gomes and Cao Guimaraes, "The Man in the Crowd," Brazil; and Diego Lerman, "The Discipline Monitor" (La Preceptora Nacional), Argentina.

United States: Dee Rees, "Pariah," U.S.A.; David Riker, "The Girl"; and John Magary, "Blood Abundance, or the Half-Life of Antoinette."

Japan: Qurata Kenji, "Speed Girl; Yukiko Mishima, "When Nobody Calls Your Name"; and Seasan Noda (niga oolong), "Limbo."
comments powered by Disqus