Finalists selected for Nicholl Fellowships

Up to five writers to be awarded $30,000 for screenplays

Eleven writers have been selected as finalists for the 24th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

They are Matt Ackley, Vineet Dewan and Angus Fletcher, John Griffin, Hiram Martinez, Marleine Pacilio, Adriana Brad Schanen, Neil Swaab, Nidhi Anna Verghese, Dan Lee West and Jeff Williams.

As many as five $30,000 fellowships may be awarded after the screenplays are judged by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by writer and 1992 Nicholl fellow Susannah Grant.