Five Asian films to compete at Cannes

Five more will be featured in Un Certain Regard

BEIJING -- Korean directors are leading Asia's charge on the 63rd Festival de Cannes, which announced its 2010 lineup on Thursday in Paris.
Selected from Asia to compete in the annual south of France fete beginning May 12 are South Korean director Im Sang-soo's "The Housemaid," a remake of the 1960s classic domestic thriller of the same name, and repeat Cannes contender Lee Chang-dong with "Poetry," which lured actress Yun Jeong-hie out of retirement.

Lee's "Secret Sunshine" was up for the Palme D'or in 2007, and garnered the best actress award for Jeon Do-yeon.

"Chongqing Blues," from Chinese director Wang Xiaoshuai, was added to the Competition lineup after an initial spot in Un Certain Regard. The film is based on a true story about a father trying to discover how his estranged son was killed by the police.

More Cannes coverage  
Also in Competition from Asia at Cannes this year are returnee Takeshi Kitano with "Outrage," the Japanese actor-director's return to gangster films, and Thai newcomer, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, with his Spanish-German-French-British co-production "Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives," a film that deals with the themes of karma and reincarnation.
"Six or seven more" competition selections will be made in the coming days, festival director Thierry Fremaux said on Thursday in Paris.
The eight-member competition jury led by Tim Burton has but one Asian member this year, Indian director-actor-producer Shekhar Kapur.
In the festival's Un Certain Regard section are Korean director Hong Sang-soo's love story "Ha Ha Ha"; Indian Vikramaditya Motwane's directorial debut "Udaan"; Japanese director Hideo Nakata's English feature, "Chatroom," made in the U.K.; and Dutch director David Verbeek's video game thriller "R U There," made in Taiwan.
The 2009 Cannes festival saw Filipino Brillante Mendoza take home the award for best director for "Kinatay," South Korean Park Chan-wook take home the jury prize for "Thirst," and Chinese writer Mei Feng take home the best screenplay prize for "Spring Fever," a Hong Kong production of director Lou Ye's film.