Five Finalists Named for Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

The winners of the annual competition will be announced Nov. 4 at UCLA.

Five finalists have been selected from among 260 submissions for the 2013 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which will be presented Nov. 4 at UCLA.

They are Jeffrey Baker, UCLA, Dr. Acker’s English Elixer; Sean Harrigan, UC Irvine, Dust Red; Turner Hay, UCLA, Broken Grey; Rocco Pucillo, UCLA, Inspector Sun and the Curse of the Black Widow; and Jared Robbins, UC Riverside, Farang.

Samuel Goldwyn Jr., president of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, announced Tuesday that the judges for the annual competition, now in its 58th year, will be Pete Hammond, awards columnist for Deadline Hollywood and film critic for Movieline; Jennifer O’Kieffe, writer and 2007 Samuel Goldwyn Award Winner; and Tom Rothman, chairman, TriStar Productions.

The awards were created by Samuel Goldwyn Sr. in 1955 at UCLA to encourage young film, stage and television writers. Past winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Eric Roth, Allison Anders and Jonathan Kellerman.

Teri Schwartz, dean of UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television said, “We are thrilled that three of the five finalists in this year’s Samuel Goldwyn Awards competition are students from our school. Their ability to tell compelling stories that resonate with readers perfectly reflects our vision, which asks us to use our diverse, innovative voices to enlighten, engage and inspire change for a better world.”

Winners will earn a $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize and $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions.