Five hosts is new reality for Emmys


A week ago, they found out they are the first-ever Emmy nominees in the new category of best reality host.

But instead of enjoying the show in the audience, "American Idol's" Ryan Seacrest, "Survivor's" Jeff Probst, "Dancing With the Stars' " Tom Bergeron, "Deal or No Deal's" Howie Mandel and "Project Runway's" Heidi Klum will have to work on it.

The five have been named co-hosts for the 60th annual Primetime Emmy Awards, which will take place Sept. 21 at the Nokia Theater and be broadcast on ABC.

As they were looking at potential hosts, Emmy producers focused their attention on the new reality hosts category.

"It was pretty obvious," executive producer Ken Ehrlich said.

But they didn't make any move until July 17, when the nominations were announced.

"When we saw the nominees (in the category), they turned out to be such a a perfect group of people," he said.

The five, who know one another well, quickly agreed to come aboard.

Details on how they will share the hosting duties are being worked out, but they are expected to be together onstage at some point, Ehrlich said.

This will be the second consecutive Emmy emcee duty for Seacrest, who was the sole host last year when the ceremony aired on Fox. (partialdiff)