Five Writers Picked for Nicholl Fellowships

Each winner will receive a $30,000 prize.

Five writers have been selected, from among 6,304 submitted scripts, as winners of the 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

They are Destin Daniel Cretton of San Diego for "Short Term 12"; Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, "And Handled With a Chain"; Andrew Lanham, Austin, Texas, "The Jumper of Maine"; Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, "A Good Hunter"; and Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, "Identifying Marks"

Each writer will receive a $30,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on Nov. 4.

Final judging of the competition was conducted by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd and composed of writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actress Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.

The competition was open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000, or received a fellowship or prize that includes a "first look" clause, an option or any other quid pro quo involving the writer's work.

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year.