Fox Names 2014 Writers Intensive Finalists

This year's top 10 come from a pool of more than 400 nominations and will spend the next 14 weeks in the program before one fellow is chosen.

The Fox Writers Intensive has selected the 10 finalists for its 2014 program, the third since its inception. Fox Audience Strategy announced Thursday that the chosen applicants come from a pool of more than 400 nominations. From the top 10, Fox will choose one fellow whose original script will be purchased and developed at the network.

"With an unprecedented number of nominations for the program this year, we had a tremendous pool of candidates to choose from, but these 10 finalists and the alternates truly stood out to the FWI jurors -- an impressive feat considering that they are some of our most senior creative executives and showrunners," said 21st Century Fox senior vp audience strategy Nicole A. Bernard. "They are all unbelievably talented writers who not only represent a broad swath of perspectives on a personal level, but also infuse that authentically into their scripts and characters."

This year's FWI writers (and one team) and their respective representatives are:

  • Nazrin Choudhury (ICM/Silver Lake Entertainment)
  • Tze Chun (WME)
  • Nate Clark (Independent)
  • Sonay Hoffman (Kaplan Stahler/Scripted World)
  • Johanna Lee (Scripted World)
  • Bernadette Rivero (Circle of Confusion)
  • Kevin Seccia (The Gersh Agency/Gotham Group)
  • Gabby Revilla (Morris Yorn Barnes Levine Krintzman Rubenstein & Kohner, P.C.)
  • Debby Wolfe (ICM)
  • Ed Gonzalez and Jeremy Haft (Summit Talent and Literary Agency/Luber Roklin Management)

Participating writers and producers include Bones' Hart Hanson, The Walking Dead's Glen Mazzara and American Horror Story: Coven's Jessica Sharzer. Guest speakers this year include Cheo Coker (Almost Human), Cherry Chevapravatdumrong (Family Guy), Christal Henry (Gang Related), Ruben Fleischer (Gangster Squad) and Valentina Garza (Borderland).

Established in 2011, the program is designed to find and foster writers with diverse voices, backgrounds and life experiences. The most recent fellow, Yule Caise, was signed by APA and inked a development deal with FX Networks, in conjunction with Fox Broadcasting Company and 20th Century Television Studios. Six other FWI finalists have been staffed on series for the 2013-14 season, including Fox's Sleepy Hollow, Showtime's House of Lies and NBC's Crisis.