Frank Marshall Named Co-Chair of L.A.'s Promise Board of Directors

Frank Marshall Oscars List - P 2012
David Livingston/Getty Images

Frank Marshall Oscars List - P 2012

O'Melveny and Myers' Christopher Brearton and Fox's Dean Hallett have joined the charitable organization's board.

Director-producer Frank Marshall was named co-chair of L.A.'s Promise board of directors on Tuesday. The nonprofit organization works to improve the lives of youth in a south L.A. community, L.A.'s Promise Neighborhood, and prepares students for college.

Christopher Brearton, managing partner at O'Melveny and Myers' Century City office, and Dean Harlett, executive vp at Fox Filmed Entertainment, have been added to the board of directors.

Marshall originally joined the board in 2007, and he and wife Kathleen Kennedy were honored in 2010 at the L.A.'s Promise Gala. Kennedy is the president of Lucasfilm, while Marshall has served as executive producer on the Indiana Jones and Bourne film franchises.

"Frank has been a core contributor to the growth of L.A.'s Promise since its inception," board co-chair Stephen Prough said in a statement.

Brearton brings 15 years of legal and accounting experience to the 13-member board of directors, which oversees strategic planning, finances and fundraising. Prior to O'Melveny, Brearton was certified public accountant at KPMG.

Before joining Fox, Hallett was executive vp and CFO at the Walt Disney Studios. Hallett also serves as vice chairman of Marshall Partners at USC and is a member of the university's board of governors.

"I've admired L.A.'s Promise for pouring its efforts into one deserving community, which surrounds a university of significant importance to me," Hallett said.

Longtime board members of L.A.'s Promise include Megan Chernin, CEO of the L.A. Fund; Ares senior partner John Kissick; Amgen vp of human resources Brian MacNamee; and Erik Feig, president of production at Lionsgate.