French producers form new association


PARIS -- One hundred twenty French film producers have come together to form a new organization to improve and reinforce their professional representation.

L'Association des Producteurs de Cinema (the Association of Film Producers), which fuses together members of film producers syndicate the CSPF and film producers' union the UPF, has named Mandarin Films' Eric Altmayer its president.

Alain Attal (Les Productions du Tresor), Jean Cazes (Initial Prods.), Jean-Francois Lepetit (Flach Film) and Marc Missonnier (Fidelite) will serve as co-vps. While Frederic Brillion of Epithete Films and Jean Cottin are taking on the roles of treasurer and secretary, respectively.

"This new syndicate will be an active and representative partner in numerous negotiations and will engage the future of film production, in particular the defense and reinforcement of independent production in all its diversity, the relationships with broadcasters and, in the short term, the conclusion of a collective convention aiming to create, durably and healthily, employment in the sector," representatives said.

The group also includes prolific indie producers including Francois Kraus (Films du Kiosque), Claude Berri (Hirsch), Edouard Weil (Rectangle Prods.), Thomas Langmann (La Petite Reine) and Charles Gassot (Produire a Paris).