Furtado cuts 'Loose' with 5 Juno wins


TORONTO -- Canadian songstress Nelly Furtado swept the Junos, Canada's music awards, by picking up trophies during the weekend in all five categories in which she competed.

Victoria-born Furtado, whose third album, "Loose," has sold 10 million copies worldwide, picked up the fan choice award and the best single and album of the year prizes Sunday night as the Junos aired live from Saskatoon in most parts of the country on the CTV network.

Furtado, who hosted the telecast Sunday, also picked up artist and pop album of the year honors for "Loose" during an invite-only industry gala Saturday.

She beat out Gregory Charles, Michael Buble, Nickelback and Sarah McLachlan to earn the fan choice award, voted on by Canadians.

Other winners during Sunday's televised awards included Billy Talent picking up trophies for best group and best rock album of the year, while Hamilton, Ontario-born singer-songwriter Tomi Swick was crowned best new artist of the year.

Furtado, Talent and hip-hop artist k-os came into the weekend's Junos with five nominations each to lead the field.

Other winners Saturday included Dixie Chicks picking up international album of the year honors for "Taking the Long Way," jazz sensation Diana Krall earning best vocal jazz album for "From This Moment On" and Jim Cuddy snagging best adult alternative album for "The Light That Guides You Home."

Gordie Sampson grabbed the songwriter of the year award for his country music output, including Carrie Underwood's "Jesus Take the Wheel."

A complete list of 2007 Juno Award Winners follows:

Juno Fan Choice Award: Nelly Furtado, (Geffen Universal)

Group Of The Year: Billy Talent (Atlantic/Wea Warner)

New Artist Of The Year: Tomi Swick (Wea Warner)

Single Of The Year: "Promiscuous," Nelly Furtado (Geffen Universal)

R&B/Soul Recording Of The Year: "Mysoul," Jacksoul (Sony BMG)

Rock Album Of The Year: "Billy Talent," Billy Talent (Atlantic/Wea Warner)

Album Of The Year: "Loose," Nelly Furtado (Geffen Universal)

Saturday Night Juno Winners

International Album of the Year: Taking the Long Way -- Dixie Chicks (Sony BMG)

Artist of the Year: Nelly Furtado (Geffen/ Universal)

New Group of the Year: Mobile (M&B/ Universal)

Songwriter of the Year: Gordie Sampson

Country Recording of the Year: Somebody Wrote Love - George Canyon (Reiny Dawg/ Universal)

Rap Recording of the Year: Black Magic - Swollen Members (Swollen Members Music/ Universal)

Adult Alternative Album of the Year: The Light That Guides You Home - Jim Cuddy (WEA/ Warner)

Alternative Album of the Year: Sometimes - City and Colour (Dine Alone/ Universal)

Pop Album of the Year: Loose - Nelly Furtado (Geffen/ Universal)

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year: From this Moment On - Diana Krall (Verve/ Universal)

Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year: From the Heart - Hilario Duran and His Latin Jazz Big Band (Alma/ Universal)

Traditional Jazz Album of the Year: Avenue Standard - Jon Ballantyne (Real Artist Works/ CD Baby)

Instrumental Album of the Year: Run Neil Run - Sisters Euclid (Northern Blues/ Festival)

Francophone Album of the Year: Il etait une fois dans l'est - Antoine Gratton (Tacca/ Select)

Children's Album of the Year: My Beautiful World - Jack Grunsky (Casablanca Kids/ EMI)

Classical Album of the Year (Solo or Chamber Ensemble): Piazolla - Les Violons du Roy/ Jean-Marie Zeitouni (Atma/ SRI)

Classical Album of the Year (Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment): Mozart: Violin Concerti - James Ehnes, Mozart Anniversary Orchestra (CBC Records/ Universal)

Classical Album of the Year (Vocal or Choral Performance): Mozart: Arie e Duetti - Isabel Bayrakdarian, Michael Schade, Russell Braun, Canadian Opera Company Orchestra/ Richard Bradshaw (CBC Records/ Universal)

Classical Composition of the Year: Clere Venus - Denis Gougeon "A l'Aventure!" (Centerdiscs/ Fusion III)

Dance Recording of the Year: Sexor - Tiga (Last Gang/ Universal)

Reggae Recording of the Year: Xrated - Korexion (Kornerstone/ Kornerstore)

Aboriginal Recording of the Year: Sedze - Leela Gilday (Diva Sound/ Festival)

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Solo):

Yellowjacket - Stephen Fearing (True North/ Universal)

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Group): Bloom - The McDades (Free Radio Records)

Blues Album of the Year: House of Refuge - Jim Byrnes (Black Hen/ KOCH)

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year: Wide-Eyed and Mystified - Downhere (Centricity/ Warner/ CMC)

World Music Album of the Year: Kaba Horo - Lubo Alexandro (Justin Time/ Fusion III)

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year: Brian Howes: "Trip" - Hedley - Hedley (Universal), "Lips of an Angel" - Extreme Behaviour - Hinder (Universal)

Recording Engineer of the Year: John "Beetle" Bailey: "Rain" - Messin' Around - Molly Johnson (Anthem/ Universal), "Sisters of Mercy" - If Your Memory Serves You Well - Serena Ryder (EMI)

CD/DVD Artwork Design of the Year: Chloe Lum & Yannick Desranleau for Seripop (Director/ Designer/ Illustrator/ Photographer) : The Looks - Mstrkrft - Last Gang (Universal)

Video of the Year: Bridge to Nowhere - Duplex (aka Dave Pawsey and Jonathan Legris) - Sam Roberts (Secret Brain/ Universal)

Music DVD of the Year: Escarpment Blues - Andy Keen, Sarah Harmer, Patrick Sambrook - Sarah Harmer (Cold Snap/ Universal)