'Game of Thrones' Concert Series Coming to 28 U.S. Cities

Sophie Turner as Sansa on 'Game of Thrones'

The immersive arena tour has been "a couple of years in the planning."

The music of HBO’s Game of Thrones will bring the world of Westeros to 28 cities throughout the U.S. starting in February.

The arena tour, which starts Feb. 15 at Kansas City’s Spring Center, will feature the show’s composer, Ramin Djawadi, conducting an 80-piece orchestra and choir through some of the series’ best-loved themes on a 360-degree stage. Elements of the fantasy epic will come alive during the concert through LED telescoping and wall screens and special 3D designs that will rise from the stage floor.

“It’s been a couple of years in the planning,” Djawadi told Billboard. “We really wanted to make it a special event. We wanted it to be an immersive experience so that when you’re walking into the [arena], you are in Westeros.”

The show broke the news Monday at a fan event at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles with several hundred fans in attendance, some of them dressed as characters from the Emmy Award-winning show.

Kicked off by USC’s marching band performing the Game of Thrones theme, the event included a replica of the famous Iron Throne, which fans could sit on for a photo opportunity, as well as a Hall of Faces exhibit and several costumes from characters such as Jaqen and Ayra.

Isaac Hempstead Wright, who plays Bran Stark on the series, conducted a Q&A with Djawadi, followed by a 32-piece orchestra playing a 12-minute selection of music from Thrones before an appreciative audience. Djawadi told Wright the idea for the tour came after the show’s producers brought up how much they would love to see the music performed live. “It’s a big, emotional, dramatic show,” said Djawadi. “It will be nice to see real musicians play those themes and remind us of some of the characters that we’ve lost throughout the season,” he said, referring to the show’s high body count.

Live Nation will promote the outing in partnership with HBO Global licensing. With six months to go, a number of decisions are still being made, including how many musicians will travel with the show and how many will be hired in each town. “The soloists will definitely travel with me,” said Djawadi. “We’ll see if all [the musicians] travel with me or we pick them up in different cities.”

Wright is thrilled that the music is getting its own spotlight. “It speaks volumes about the quality of the music and the show that it moves people,” he told Billboard. “The fact that the music is reaching its own kind of level is fantastic.” Djawadi added that Wright is “a fantastic pianist, so I’ve been working on him joining the band.”

Tickets for the tour go on sale Saturday via LiveNation.com.

Before the fans can see Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience, they will be able to buy a special three-disc gatefold vinyl edition of the music from the recently completed season 6, which includes a custom laser etching on the vinyl. Due out Sept. 30 via WaterTower Music, the set will sell for $34.98 and includes “Light of the Seven,” a memorable theme that introduced the piano to the Game of Thrones musical world and became such a fan favorite that it charted on both iTunes and Spotify around the world. The music has already come out digitally and on CD.

All dates, cities and venues below subject to change.

Wednesday, Feb. 15
Kansas City, Mo.
Sprint Center

Friday, Feb. 17
St. Paul, Minn.
Xcel Energy Center

Sunday, Feb. 19
Chicago, Ill.
United Center

Monday, Feb. 20
Detroit, Mich.
Palace of Auburn Hills

Wednesday, Feb. 22
Columbus, Ohio
Nationwide Arena

Thursday, Feb. 23
Buffalo, N.Y.
First Niagara Center

Saturday, Feb. 25
Uncasville, Conn.
Mohegan Sun

Sunday, Feb. 26
Philadelphia, Pa.
Wells Fargo Center

Wednesday, March 1
Washington, D.C.
Verizon Center

Friday, March 3
Bell Centre

Saturday, March 4
Air Canada Centre

Monday, March 6
Boston, Mass.
TD Bank Garden

Tuesday, March 7
New York, N.Y.
Madison Square Garden

Thursday, March 9
Charlotte, N.C.
Time Warner Cable Arena

Saturday, March 11
Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
BB&T Center

Sunday, March 12
Tampa, Fla.
Amalie Arena

Tuesday, March 14
Atlanta, Ga.
Philips Arena

Thursday, March 16
San Antonio, Texas
AT&T Center

Friday, March 17
Houston, Texas
Toyota Center

Sunday, March 19
Denver, Colo.
Pepsi Center

Tuesday, March 21
Salt Lake City, Utah
Maverik Center

Thursday, March 23
Los Angeles, Calif.
The Forum

Saturday, March 25
Las Vegas, N.V.
MGM Grand Garden Arena

Sunday, March 26
Phoenix, Ariz.
TalkingStick Resort Arena

Wednesday, March 29
San Jose, Calif.
SAP Center

Friday, March 31
Seattle, Wash.
Key Arena

Saturday, April 1
Rogers Arena

Sunday, April 2
Portland, Ore.
Moda Center 

This story originally appeared on Billboard.com.

comments powered by Disqus