Ganis recast as AMPAS president


Sid Ganis has been re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization's board of governors. It will be his third consecutive term in that office.

Also during Tuesday's voting, Robert Rehme, an executive branch governor and former Academy president, was re-elected first vp; actors branch governor Tom Hanks and music branch governor Charles Bernstein were elected to vp posts; producers branch governor Hawk Koch was elected treasurer; and short films and feature animation branch governor Jon Bloom was elected secretary.

Bernstein, Koch and Bloom will be serving their first stints as officers. Hanks served one term apiece as a vp and as treasurer, while Rehme has served in officer posts, including president, for a total of 16 terms.

Ganis has served as a governor representing the public relations branch for 21 years. He founded Out of the Blue … Entertainment, which is housed on the Sony lot, in 1996. Before that, Ganis held positions at Sony Pictures, including as vice chairman of Columbia Pictures and president of worldwide marketing at Columbia/TriStar Motion Picture Cos. Before joining Sony, Ganis served for five years at Paramount Pictures as president of the motion picture group and before that was the studio's president of worldwide marketing. Previously, Ganis was senior vp at Lucasfilm.

"I'm truly honored to have the opportunity to continue to serve as president of the Academy," Ganis said. "There are so many interesting projects going on in the organization. I'm excited to have the chance to help steer those along and to bring even more to our wide-reaching agenda."

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.