Trent Reznor Releases Six Free Tracks From 'Girl With the Dragon Tattoo' Soundtrack

Sony Pictures
"The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo"

Thirty-five minutes worth of music from the upcoming David Fincher film has hit the web.

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have released a free six-song sampler from the upcoming The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo soundtrack.

The team behind the Academy Award-winning score for The Social Network has been working on the 39-song soundtrack for the David Fincher adaptation of Stieg Larsson's novel for more than a year. The six tracks made available (35 minutes in total) give a sense of the mood that will run rampant in the film's score.

"We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers," Reznor wrote on his official website on Thursday. "The result is a sprawing three-hour opus that I am happy to announce is available for pre-order right now for as low as $11.99. The full release will be available in one week - December 9th."

Reznor also made note that he and Ross scored the eight-minute trailer "separately from the film."

Girl With the Dragon Tattoo hits U.S. theaters Dec. 21. The soundtrack will be available digitally Dec. 9 before hitting stores. Rooney Mara, in the title role, has already won the breakthrough performance award from the National Board of Review.