GLAAD Awards fete ABC with 3


ABC dominated the Los Angeles portion of the 18th annual Gays and Lesbians Against Defamation Media Awards, winning the three television categories presented Saturday at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland.

The network's "Ugly Betty" won outstanding comedy series during the ceremony, which honors mainstream media for its fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community. The award was accepted by creator Silvio Horta, who said, "From the start, the main theme of this show has been 'be true to yourself,' and I think that resonates so much especially within the gay, lesbian and transgender community."

"Brothers & Sisters" creator Jon Robin Baitz accepted the award for outstanding drama series, saying, "I don't know how you would do a television series without a family in this country today with five children, one of whom wouldn't be gay."

Winning an award for individual episode was "Grey's Anatomy," a show that drew controversy when the series' Isaiah Washington used an anti-gay slur when talking about out castmate T.R. Knight, who opened the awards ceremony.

"Obviously, this is a lot more preferable way for us to be in the news," co-executive producer Mark Wilding said as he accepted the award.

Fox Searchlight's "Little Miss Sunshine" won for outstanding film, wide release, which was accepted by writer Michael Arndt, who spoke passionately about the fight against those who try to stigmatize homosexuals.

"All they have on their side is 2,000 years of tradition, dogma and folk morality," he said. "We have nothing but the values of kindness, decency, common sense, humor and a superior sense of fashion and above all the idea that all people really are created equal."

Other honors were given to gay tennis great Martina Navratilova, who received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award from Lance Bass, and Jennifer Aniston, upon whom Jake Gyllenhaal bestowed the Vanguard Award.
comments powered by Disqus