Roland Emmerich to Be Honored at GLAAD Media Awards

Roland Emmerich H 2013
AP Photo/Lionel Cironneau

Roland Emmerich H 2013

Channing Tatum will present the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to the director of 'Stonewall' and 'White House Down' at the Los Angeles ceremony on March 21.

Roland Emmerich will be honored at the GLAAD Media Awards.

The writer-director will be presented with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the Los Angeles ceremony, which will be held at the Beverly Hilton on March 21. Channing Tatum, who starred in Emmerich's 2013 film White House Down, will present the honor.

The Stephen F. Kolzak Award is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equality. The helmer of The Day After Tomorrow and Independence Day — who has significantly contributed to several non-profit organizations, including Outfest's Legacy Project, The Los Angeles LGBT Center, Freedom to Marry and the Cambodian Children's Fund — recently completed filming Stonewall, a drama about the 1969 Stonewall Riots in New York City, a major turning point in the struggle for LGBT equality.

"As one of Hollywood’s most sought-after film directors, Roland Emmerich has entertained audiences across the globe. His generosity has touched the lives of countless LGBT people, bringing shelter to homeless youth and preserving culture-changing stories that help close the gap to full acceptance," said GLAAD president and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis in a statement. "Now, with the upcoming release of Stonewall, millions of moviegoers all across the world will see the harms of anti-LGBT discrimination and learn about the historic riots that forever changed equality in America."

Previous recipients of the honor include Laverne Cox, Wanda Sykes, Rufus Wainwright, Melissa Etheridge, Bill Condon, Todd Haynes, Alan Ball, Ellen DeGeneres and Sir Ian McKellen.

Additional special guests and honorees will be announced. The New York awards ceremony will take place at the Waldorf Astoria on May 9.