GLAAD sticks with ABC's family


"Brothers & Sisters" was named best TV drama series and "Ugly Betty" was welcomed to the stage as best TV comedy series at the 19th annual GLAAD Media Awards, held Saturday night at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood.

The two ABC series took the same honors at last year's event, held by the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation to highlight positive depictions of gays and lesbians in the media.

Bravo's "Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List" was hailed as outstanding reality program.

Ellen DeGeneres presented Janet Jackson with the Vanguard Award, honoring media professionals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

Sharon Stone presented the Stephen F. Kolzak Award to another musician, Rufus Wainwright, for his efforts in promoting equal rights.

Photographer Herb Ritts was honored posthumously with the Pioneer Award, which was accepted by Cindy Crawford on behalf of the Herb Ritts Foundation.

Bravo will telecast the awards at a date to be announced. (partialdiff)