Gloria Calderon Kellett, Issa Rae Among New TV Academy Exec Committee Chairs


Execs Rob Mills, Dawn Olmstead, Vernon Sanders and Zack Van Amburg join the two TV scribes.

The Television Academy, the governing body of the Emmy Awards, announced Wednesday the appointment of six new chair members of the executive committee — tapping two prominent writers and four executives.

Joining the group are One Day at a Time showrunner Gloria Calderón Kellett, and Insecure’s Issa Rae, as well as ABC svp and alternative series, specials and late-night chief Rob Mills, recently-tapped Anonymous Content CEO Dawn Olmstead, Amazon Studios’ television co-head Vernon Sanders and Apple’s Zack Van Amburg.

“We are thrilled to be able to leverage the collective expertise of this talented group of Television innovators as we navigate this extraordinary time in the history of our industry,” said TV Academy president Frank Scherma. “Their leadership provides invaluable insight that will allow the Academy to play an integral role in shaping the evolution of the medium.”

The new group will work closely with the Academy’s officers and board of governors to develop and guide the direction of the Academy in 2021, with the Academy’s board of governors has elected the following as representatives on the executive committee for the term: Eva Basler (daytime programming), Kim Coleman (casting directors), Nicole Marostica (public relations)and Lois Vossen (documentary programming).

The new executive committee additions follow the recent news that Banijay chairman of the Americas Chris Abrego has been elected to serve a two-year term as the Television Academy Foundation Chair. (Abrego will also serve on the executive committee.)