'Glory,' Sweeney top costume nods


"Blades of Glory's" Julie Weiss landed in the spotlight Tuesday as winners of the 10th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards were announced.

While Weiss received the award for contemporary film for outfitting the Will Ferrell starrer, veteran designer Colleen Atwood won for period film for outfitting Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter and others in "Sweeney Todd." Ruth Myers won for fantasy film for "The Golden Compass."

Of the three winners announced at the ceremony held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel, "Sweeney Todd" was the only film to also be nominated for an Academy Award for costume design.

For television, Mario Davignon won for telefilm/miniseries for HBO's "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee." Davignon also collected an Emmy for her costume design work on "Wounded Knee."

For contemporary TV series, ABC's "Ugly Betty's" Eduardo Castro collected the award, while Robert Blackman's work on ABC's "Pushing Daisies" was honored in the period/fantasy TV series category.

Deborah Ferguson took home the prize for commercial costume design for Capitol One's "Princess Kiss" ad.

Costume designers were not the only ones being honored at Tuesday's event, hosted by Anjelica Huston.

United Artists CEO Paula Wagner was presented with the Swarovski President's Award, while director James Mangold and his producing partner Cathy Konrad were the recepients of the Distinguished Director/Producer Award.

GMyers also was honored with the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award for her body of work, which includes Oscar-nominated designs for "Emma" and "The Addams Family," while Ray Aghayan received the Career Achievement in Television Award.