Goi to Return as ASC President

Michael Goi Portrait 2011
Douglas Kirkland

Michael Goi

Emmy nominee is re-elected by cinematographers to third term.

Michael Goi has been elected to serve a third term as president of the American Society of Cinematographers.

Also voted as ASC officers were vps Richard Crudo, Owen Roizman and John C. Flinn III; treasurer Victor J. Kemper; secretary Fred Goodich; and sergeant at arms Stephen Lighthill, it was announced Thursday.

Members elected to the ASC board of governors included John Bailey, Stephen H. Burum, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, Fred Elmes, Francis Kenny, Isidore Mankofsky, Robert Primes, Kees Van Oostrum, Haskell Wexler and Vilmos Zsigmond.

“I am honored to be re-elected by a membership that is filled with tremendously talented and accomplished artists,” Goi said. “It is a privilege to represent an organization that is committed to educating aspiring filmmakers, as well as advancing and protecting our art form.”

A native of Chicago, Goi has credits that include the telefilms The Fixer (1999) and Judas (2005) and  a 2009 episode of My Name Is Earl, which earned him an Emmy nomination.