Goings-on in the world of film and TV music


APM Launches Second Year of Podcast Series
APM Music has sponsored and produced the second year of its APM Film and TV Music Podcast series for film and television music professionals. The series consists of exclusive interviews with leaders in the music for film and TV industries, discussing significant business, technical and creative trends. The interviews were conducted at The Hollywood Reporter/Billboard Film and TV Music Conference, held this past November in Beverly Hills.

The first episodes are available now and new episodes from the conference will be released throughout the spring. The podcasts feature one-on-one interviews with composers and songwriters such as Sondre Lerche (2007's "Dan in Real Life"), Harry Gregson-Williams (the "Shrek" films), Alan Menken (1991's "Beauty and the Beast"), Glen Ballard (2007's "Beowulf"), Jan A.P. Kaczmarek (2004's "Finding Neverland") and Andrew Hollander (2007's "Waitress"). Podcast episodes can be downloaded at apmmusic.com/podcast or found through iTunes, Yahoo Podcasts, Odeo and Podcast Alley.

BMI Fetes Daryl Hall and John Oates
BMI will salute musical duo Daryl Hall and John Oates as BMI Icons at its 56th annual Pop Awards on May 20 at the Beverly Wilshire. Hosted by BMI execs Del Bryant (president and CEO) and Barbara Cane (vp and general manager of writer

and publisher relations, Los Angeles), the invitation-only event will also honor the songwriters and publishers of the most performed pop songs in the United States over the past year. The event's capstone will take the form of a stirring musical tribute to Hall & Oates. BMI Icons are selected because of their "unique and indelible influence on generations of musicmakers." Hall & Oates will join previous honorees such as the Bee Gees, Paul Simon, Brian Wilson, Willie Nelson and Dolly Parton.

Warren Honored by ASMAC
The American Society of Music Arrangers and Composers celebrated its 70th anniversary by honoring three acclaimed artists on March 14: Six-time Oscar nominee Diane Warren received the 2008 President's Award; veteran film composer Alan Silvestri received the Golden Score Award -- Composing; and jazz icon Bill Holman received the Golden Score Award -- Arranging. Held at the Sheraton Universal Hotel in Universal City, the event was hosted by actor Stacy Keach and ASMAC president John Clayton. The event had a number of special guests including Mort Sahl; Johnny Mandel (presenter to Holman); Ron Fair, president of Geffen Records; Chris Montan, president of Walt Disney Music (presenter to Silvestri); Amy Smart; Hal Espinosa, president of Local 47; and Nancy Knutsen of ASCAP.

Elfman and Tharp Team Up
The American Ballet Theatre's 2008 spring season at the Metropolitan Opera House will feature the world premiere of a work choreographed by Twyla Tharp and set to a commissioned score by Danny Elfman. The work premieres June 3 and runs through June 7. A first for Elfman, this marks Tharp's 15th work for ABT. The Orange County Performing Arts Center will present the West Coast premiere of the new Tharp-Elfman work on Aug. 6. It will then be given six performances through Aug. 10 at the center.