Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Finalists Named

Shonda Rhimes - H 2015
Courtesy of PMK

Shonda Rhimes - H 2015

The winners of the screenwriting awards, open to students in the UC system, will be announced Nov. 2.

Five finalists have been named for the 2015 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, begun in 1955 at the University of California, Los Angeles by Samuel Goldwyn Sr. to encourage young film, stage and television writers and which are open to students at any UC campus.

This year’s finalists are Emily Bensinger, UCLA, for the screenplay Harridans; Noel Chalmers, UCLA, Stinker; Sean Dennison, UC, Riverside, Pancea; Melissa Finell, UCLA, Sensitivity Training; and Chloe Keenan, UCLA, What I Did This Summer: By Sophie Crumb.

This year’s judges are NBC Entertainment chairman Robert Greenblatt, writer-director-producer Richard LaGravenese and writer-producer Shonda Rhimes.

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize and $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions will be awarded Nov. 2 at UCLA.