Gotham Awards Reveal Breakthrough Series Nominees


The indie-film honors this year have added categories recognizing long and shortform TV and web content.

The Gotham Awards have announced the nominees for the independent film honors' first awards for serialized TV and web content.

The Independent Filmmaker Project, which presents the Gotham Awards, said that in adding these two categories, it was recognizing "that the spirit and vision of the best of ‘independent film’ is also realized in content created for a variety of platforms in a variety of lengths and formats."

The awards will honor "exceptionally realized new series that expand the possibilities of creative, independent storytelling."

Nominees in the longform category include a number of critically acclaimed series that have been recognized by the Emmys and Golden Globes, like Jane the Virgin, Transparent and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

"We are thrilled this year to include creators working in serialized content, where so much innovative and risk-taking work now thrives,” said Joana Vicente, executive director of IFP and the Made in NY Media Center, in a statement. “As we have for many years in film, the IFP Gotham Awards now shines a spotlight on the bold, creative and diverse visions represented through the nominees. This is a particularly exciting year, as nine out of 10 of the inaugural nominated series were created by women, and we are thrilled to be able to recognize their work."

Nominees in both categories were not made by open submission but instead based on the recommendation of committees of critics, journalists, curators, programmers and others not directly involved in producing and distributing TV and new media content. In order to be eligible, the series had to premiere between Sept. 1, 2014 and Aug. 31, 2015.

Separate juries of writers, directors, actors, producers, editors and others will determine the final Gotham Award recipients.

The 25th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards are set for Monday, Nov. 30 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York. Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Robert Redford and Helen Mirren will receive this year's director, industry, actor and actress tributes.

A complete list of the 2015 breakthrough series nominees follows.

Breakthrough Series – Longform*
A continuing or limited series with episodes running 30 minutes or longer.

Jane the Virgin, Jennie Snyder Urman, Creator (The CW)
Mr. Robot, Sam Esmail, Creator (USA Network)
Transparent, Jill Soloway, Creator (Amazon)
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, Creators (Netflix)  
UnREAL, Marti Noxon, Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, Creators (Lifetime)

*Additional nominee credits to be determined.

Breakthrough Series – Shortform*
A continuing or limited series new digital media programming comprised of five or more episodes with the majority under 20 minutes.  

Bee and PuppyCat, Natasha Alllegri, Creator (Cartoon Hangover)
The Impossibilities, Anna Kerrigan, Creator (
Qraftish, Christal, Creator (
Shugs and Fats, Nadia Manzoor and Radhka Vaz, Creator (ShugsandFats.TV)
You’re So Talented, Sam Bailey, Creator (Open TV)

*Additional nominee credits to be determined.

Disclosure: The Hollywood Reporter's chief TV critic, Tim Goodman, was on the nominating committee for the breakthrough series — longform category.