Gotham Awards: Watch the Indie Film Ceremony Live

John Cameron Mitchell Q and A Getty - H 2017
Cindy Ord/Getty Images

John Cameron Mitchell is hosting the annual show, taking place Monday night in New York.

The 2017 Gotham Independent Film Awards are being handed out Monday night at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

Jordan Peele's racially themed horror film Get Out has a leading four nominations, while Greta Gerwig's acclaimed directorial debut Lady Bird landed three noms, as did Kogonada's Columbus. Other multiple nominees include Call Me by Your Name, The Florida Project, Good Time and I, Tonya, all of which are up for best feature.

Dee Rees' Mudbound scored two mentions, including for a special jury award for ensemble performance to actors Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan and Jonathan Banks. Those totals don't include the audience award, voted on by IFP members from the films nominated for best feature, best documentary and breakthrough director. 

On the TV side, the Gotham Awards, which two years ago started recognizing small-screen fare, nominated Atlanta, Better Things, Dear White People, Fleabag and Search Party for its breakthrough series – longform award.

In addition to the competitive awards, previously announced tributes also will be given to Get Out producer Jason Blum, actors Nicole Kidman and Dustin Hoffman, director Sofia Coppola, cinematographer Ed Lachman and former Vice President Al Gore. Additionally, Michael Kenneth Williams will receive a "Made in NY" award.

The Gotham Awards are seen as the unofficial start of Oscar season. Recent Gotham Award winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

The Gotham Awards ceremony and red-carpet arrivals will be live-streamed above and on the Facebook page for the Independent Filmmakers Project, which presents the awards. The red-carpet portion begins at 6:30 p.m. ET, followed by the awards show, hosted by John Cameron Mitchell, at 8 p.m. ET.