Governors Award to 'Idol,' 'Addiction Project'


The "Idol Gives Back" fundraising effort by Fox's "American Idol" and HBO's multiplatform outreach campaign "The Addiction Project" have been tapped by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Board of Governors to receive this year's Governors Award.

The award, which honors an individual, company or organization "whose works stand out with the immediacy of current achievement," will be handed out during the 2007 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, taking place Sept. 8 at the Shrine Auditorium.

"The Governors Award is the television academy's highest honor," ATAS chairman Dick Askin said. "We salute these programs for harnessing the power of television to educate and inform viewers about two very significant issues that touch all of us."

"Idol Gives Back" helped raise more than $75 million to benefit relief programs for children and young people in extreme poverty in America and Africa. The event, hosted by Ryan Seacrest and Ellen DeGeneres, aired April 24-25 and featured celebrities, musicians, corporate sponsors and humanitarians. In addition, Seacrest along with "Idol" judges Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, Randy Jackson and "Idol" winner Carrie Underwood visited affected areas in the U.S. and Africa to profile the plight of the poor, homeless and sick children who need help.

"Idol Gives Back" was created and executive produced by Simon Fuller, founder of 19 Entertainment, and executive produced by FremantleMedia North America CEO Cecile Frot-Coutaz, 19 Television president Nigel Lythgoe and FMNA executive producer Ken Warwick.

"The Addiction Project," designed to help Americans understand addiction as a chronic but treatable brain disease, was a partnership with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the National Institutes of Health. It featured a 14-part series from documentary filmmakers along with an outreach campaign in more than 100 cities. HBO made "Addiction" easily available by opening its signal, streaming the content for free at and making it available for free as podcasts.

"Addiction" was produced by John Hoffman and Susan Froemke and executive produced by Sheila Nevins.

Hal Eisner, chairman of the Governors Award Nominating Committee, oversaw the selection process. The Governors Award Committee is composed of ATAS governors Beth Bohn, Donna Ekholdt, Kevin Hamburger, Melinda Lawton, Kate Linder and Nancy Thurston.

Last year's Governors Award recipient was mtvU for its Campaign for Darfur.