Governors Awards ceremony set for Nov.

Honorary prizes no longer included in Oscar telecast

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has set Nov. 14 for the first edition of its fall Governors Awards ceremony. The invitation-only black-tie dinner will be held at the Grand Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland complex.

In June, the Academy announced that its testimonial awards -- the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and any Honorary Awards bestowed in a given year -- which had been handed out at the annual Oscarcast, now will be formally presented at the new event, though they still will be acknowledged on the awards broadcast.

"For some years now, the board has struggled to balance the desire to truly honor worthy individuals with the time limitations that the Oscar telecast imposes on these honors," Academy president Sid Ganis said. "By creating a separate event for recognizing these outstanding people in the movie industry, we're ensuring that each honoree will be given his or her full due, without compromise."

Honorees will be selected at a board meeting in September. There will be only the Hersholt and one Thalberg Award voted in any given year. Including any Honorary Awards, a maximum of four Governors Awards will be given in a single year.

The most recent recipients of each were Jerry Lewis (Hersholt Award) at the 81st Academy Awards ceremony in February, Robert Boyle (Honorary Award) at the 80th Oscars in 2008 and Dino De Laurentiis (Thalberg Award) at the 73rd ceremony in 2001.