'Gravity,' '12 Years a Slave' Among Winners at Final Draft Screenwriters Choice Awards

3. Gravity
Warner Bros.

Eye-popping, breathtaking, never-seen-anything-like-it, a must to experience theatrically in 3D and not at home, great sounds and silences, looks like it was shot in outer space -- all but the crustiest curmudgeons agree that Gravity is all of the above. But has Alfonso Cuaron made a great film or just a great ride? Probably closer to the latter, but still an amazing movie experience and a landmark of some kind from one of the most skilled, eclectic and dynamic directors in the world.

"Modern Family" and "Breaking Bad" are recognized in the TV categories.

Final Draft announced the winners of its Screenwriters Choice Awards Tuesday night, closing the second year of its annual ceremony.

The screenwriting software company invited customers to cast their votes for category winners -- selected by a committee of working writers -- on an open forum, giving industry screenwriters the final say.

PHOTOS: Todd McCarthy Names the 10 Best Films of 2013

Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron received the best original screenplay award for Gravity while John Ridley took home the best adapted screenplay award for his work in 12 Years a Slave.

Modern Family, created by Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd, was named the best television comedy of 2013, and Vince Gilligan’s Breaking Bad was recognized as the best television drama.

“We at Final Draft salute all the film and TV writers who contributed such great work in 2013,” Final Draft CEO Mark Madnick said. “The winners and nominees tonight represent the best of the best, and their work drives the engine of this industry. We could not be prouder to host this awards show for these great artists.”

PHOTOS: Palm Springs: Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock, Meryl Streep Celebrate at Glittery Gala

Full list of winners and nominees:

Best Original Screenplay: Gravity — Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón (winner)

Blue Jasmine - Woody Allen 

Her - Spike Jonze

Inside Llewyn Davis - Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Nebraska - Bob Nelson 

Best Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave — John Ridley (winner)

Before Midnight - Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke (Kim Krizan (characters))

Captain Phillips - Billy Ray (based on the book A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS,and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips & Stephan Talty)

Philomena - Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope (based on the book The Lost Child of Philomena Lee by Martin Sixsmith)

The Wolf of Wall Street - Terence Winter (based on the book The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort)

Best Television Comedy: Modern Family — Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd (series creators) (winner) 

Arrested Development - Mitchell Hurwitz (series creator)

Girls - Lena Dunham (series creator)

Parks and Recreation - Greg Daniels, Michael Schur (series creators)

Veep - Armando Iannucci (series creator)

Best Television Drama: Breaking Bad — Vince Gilligan (series creator) (winner) 

Downton Abbey - Julian Fellowes (series creator)

Game of Thrones - David Benioff, D.B. Weiss (series creators)

House of Cards - Beau Willimon (series creator)

Mad Men - Matthew Weiner (series creator)